The Dog-Eared Page: Hurricane Edition

I do a lot of reading. I’m pretty much a self-taught basset, so I like to keep up on the latest sustainability news. So every week or so I’d like to offer you a collection of stories I’ve been reading about sustainability, resilience, conservation–you know, wherever my nose leads me.

This week my friends on the coast got slammed with Hurricane Matthew. But some of the worst damage is still happening as rivers continue to rise and flooding increases. The terrible truth is, extreme weather events like this may be something we have to get used to. Which leads this hound to two questions: what can we do to slow down or stop the climate change that contributes to these events? And how can we prepare our communities to be more resilient in the face of flooding and other disasters?

img_3044
I love the coast.

New York TimesFlooding of Coast, Caused by Global Warming, Has Already Begun

CNNHurricane Matthew looks a lot like the future of climate change

Los Angeles TimesDid climate change bring us Hurricane Matthew? Hard to say. But it makes storm surges worse

100 Resilient Cities

The GuardianWhat makes a city resilient?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Your fur baby is adorable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

